School Fees in Islamabad: Monthly, Admission and First-Year Cost Comparison
Islamabad's school bills range from nothing at government schools to tuition quoted in US dollars, and the regulator's public fee register never says whether a figure is per month or per year. This hub lays out the official figures we re-opened on 8 October 2026, admits where nothing is published, works three first-year totals from published 2026-27 schedules, and gives you a cost worksheet to reuse.
Short answer
Official 2026-27 figures we re-checked run from free government schooling and TCF's Rs 10 to 250 sliding scale, through Rs 8,085 a month at Lahore School System and Rs 14,350 to 32,540 a month at OPF College F-11/2, to dollar tuition at the International School of Islamabad. Most large chains we checked publish no fees online. Budget tuition, admission, deposits, annual charges, books, uniform and transport together.
How we researched this: On 8 October 2026 we re-opened the published fee pages of Lahore School System (NPF campus), OPF College F-11/2, the International School of Islamabad and Fazaia Education System School, the class-wise fee filings of seven named schools on ICT-PEIRA's online register, PEIRA's 2021 Fee-Determination Policy and its January 2026 free-places notice, the 2012 free-education Act, FDE's admission-policy page, a TCF USA FAQ, The Millennium Education's FAQ, and ProPakistani, Dawn and Express Tribune reports on fee rules. We also looked for fees on the websites of The City School, Froebel's, Headstart and Preparatory School Islamabad. The price bands are our own; we did every sum ourselves; no fee-listing website was relied on.
Most Islamabad families size up a school by its monthly tuition, yet a child's first year can cost well over twelve times that figure. Admission or registration fees, refundable deposits, annual charges, exam entries, books, uniform and the daily ride all sit on top. This hub collects the official Islamabad figures we could re-open on 8 October 2026, sorts them into price bands, marks the gaps honestly, and shows how to turn a school's fee card into a full first-year total. Budget-end schools get their own guide at /news/low-fee-schools-in-islamabad, and the top tier is covered in /news/most-expensive-schools-in-islamabad.
A word on the main data source first. The capital's private-school regulator, ICT-PEIRA, keeps a public online list of registered schools (75 pages when we opened it on 8 October), and clicking a school shows the class-by-class amounts it reported for as many as five years. Those reports print a number per class and per year but never say whether it is a monthly, termly or yearly amount, and PEIRA's disclaimer says the schools supply the data themselves and are responsible for any discrepancy. Why that matters is plain from Sheikh Zayed International Academy in H-8/4, whose report has two separate 2026-27 columns: Grade I reads 2,122,875 in one and 176,906 in the other, which is the first divided by twelve, give or take a rupee. So on this page a register figure is always called a filed figure, never a monthly fee. In at least one case the units do line up with a school's own card: Lahore School System's register line of 8,085 for Grade I matches the monthly tuition on its website, although the register files it under 2025-26 and the website under 2026-27.
The free route comes first. A federal law passed in 2012 for the capital, the Right to Free and Compulsory Education Act, says every child from five to sixteen is entitled to a free place in a school near home, and its definition of free covers every cost tied to schooling, naming stationery, bags and transport. Private schools are not exempt. Under section 10, an unaided private school must fill at least a tenth of every class, starting at Class I, with disadvantaged local children and teach them without charge to its top class, and a PEIRA notice of 13 January 2026 ordered strict compliance, with orphans and children of shuhada placed first in line. The admission-policy page on FDE's website still links only the 2025-26 policy for Islamabad Model Schools and Colleges, and that document lists no fees, so ask the school directly about any funds it collects.
Above free, the cheapest published rates belong to The Citizens Foundation. TCF's American fundraising arm, in an undated question-and-answer page, says the monthly charge runs between Rs 10 and Rs 250 and that the principal sets each household's figure after meeting the parents. On the register, TCF's Athal school near Serri Chowk reports, under 2026-27, 250 against Grade I, 300 against each of Grades II to VIII, 450 for the two Matric years and 700 for Grade XI, plus 50 on admission. A step up, the Lahore School System campus in the National Police Foundation housing area prints its 2026-27 rates online: tuition is Rs 8,085 per month through Grade V and Rs 8,965 per month in Grades VI to X, new pupils pay Rs 7,000 once on admission, and everyone pays Rs 6,000 once a year. That sits in the Rs 5,000 to 10,000 a month moderate band of PEIRA's 2021 policy. OPF College in F-11/2 is one band higher: its fee sheet dated 4 March 2026, for sessions starting April and August 2026, lists monthly fees of Rs 14,560 for Pre-Nursery to Class V, Rs 14,350 for VI to X, Rs 16,640 for XI and XII, Rs 28,910 for IGCSE and Rs 32,540 for A Level. Its fee page also halves tuition for up to four children of holders of a valid Overseas Pakistanis membership card, and gives one brother or sister a 10% tuition concession.
Published numbers thin out in the middle of the market. On the pages we opened on 8 October, the websites of The City School, Froebel's, Headstart and Preparatory School Islamabad showed no fee amounts. The City School says parents receive a fee structure slip after paying the registration fee, and The Millennium Education's FAQ says families get counselling on fees at the admission office and a fee bill after the entry test. Several premium schools do appear on the PEIRA register, and their filings give a rough picture. In their 2026-27 columns, the Grade I amount is 57,422 at the IB campus of Lahore Grammar School (H-8/1), 46,900 at Headstart Gulmohar (H-11/4), where the A Level line is 62,000, and 45,250 at the Treehouse School (F-8/1). Preparatory School Islamabad's newest column is 2025-26, with 44,500 for Grade I. Read these as filed figures with no stated period, and ask each school for its written schedule.
At the very top, the International School of Islamabad in H-9/1 prices in US dollars, and a search of the PEIRA fee list by its name found no entry. Its 2026-27 page lists a one-time application fee of $400 and a development fee of $6,975 for KG 2 to Grade 12, annual facilities and activities fees of $375 and $165, and tuition lines of $12,877 for pre-kindergarten, $17,713 for KG-1, $26,139 for KG 2 to Grade 5, $27,271 for Grades 6 to 11 and $29,471 for Grade 12. The page does not say over what period the tuition is charged. A dollar-priced bill also moves with the exchange rate.
One-time charges vary far more than tuition. Among 2026-27 filings, Lahore Grammar School's IB campus lists a 50,000 admission fee and 3,500 registration, Headstart Gulmohar an 80,000 admission fee plus 49,500 under other annual charges, and the Treehouse a 250,000 registration fee plus 41,600 in other annual charges; Preparatory School Islamabad filed a 350,000 admission fee for 2025-26. Among schools that publish their own cards, OPF College F-11/2 charges admission of Rs 20,000 to Rs 35,000 and a refundable security of Rs 28,700 to Rs 65,080 depending on level (in each case exactly twice that level's monthly fee), while Fazaia Education System School in E-9/1 charges a refundable security fee equal to two months' tuition, with exemptions for children of certain staff and of serving Air Force personnel, and says it is obliged to refund it within two months after a refund application. At Lahore School System, by contrast, the page states that neither the admission fee nor the annual fee is ever returned.
Fee cards in the capital rarely price the things a child carries, wears or rides in. None of the Islamabad schools whose fees we checked printed book or uniform prices. Lahore School System says a student ID card and prospectus are payable at admission but gives no amount. TCF's US affiliate says families are offered easy payment terms for uniforms and books, and those who cannot afford to pay get them at no cost. The Millennium Education says its uniform and course books can be bought online through its sellers page. PEIRA's policy says no school may compel parents to buy uniform, textbooks or stationery from specific vendors, including the school's own shop, and bans notebooks with printed logos and stitched or printed uniform badges, allowing branding only by pin badges and stickers. Before signing anything, get prices for the textbooks your child's class needs and for a full set of school clothes. Of the cards we checked, transport is priced on only one: OPF College F-11/2 charges Rs 5,000 a month within 8 km, Rs 6,500 for 8.1 to 16 km and Rs 8,500 beyond 16.1 km. Roots Millennium's operator, in its FAQ, says it will pass parents details of the external transport services available, and that parents must give the school their drivers' documents. A written monthly quote from a private van operator on your own route, set against the school van's rate, shows which option costs less.
Islamabad's regulator also limits what can appear on a bill. Its Fee-Determination Policy, dated 6 August 2021 and still posted on its website, requires a Schedule of Financial Charges listing every fee for the session, with its start and end dates, shared before admission and acknowledged by the parent; it adds that there shall be no charges at all beyond that schedule. Mid-session increases are barred, fees are to be collected month by month, and late fines may not exceed 5 percent of the actual fee in what the policy calls the 30 days' bracket, or 10 percent in the 60 days' bracket. A school can lift fees by as much as five percent a year simply by informing the regulator; a bigger rise needs PEIRA's approval in advance and is confined to the six-to-eight percent range. ProPakistani reported on 17 January 2026 that PEIRA's acting chairman, Dr Ghulam Ali Mallah, said schools may seek up to three percent more only in special cases, justified by audited expenditure, and that no school may exceed eight percent under any circumstances; Dawn carried the same eight percent ceiling on 24 January. Compare that with Lahore School System's own page, which says its fees are subject to increase without prior notice at any time. Practice can differ. In The Express Tribune on 28 September 2026, twin-city parents described increases of 20 to 40 percent in monthly fees and extra lines for annual charges, security, labs, activities and exams on top of tuition. Where a new bill is more than five percent above last year's, ask to see the regulator's approval letter.
A monthly rate on its own says little about what a school will cost you in its first year. List what you pay once apart from what repeats, count the tuition months the school really invoices, add yearly and exam charges, and finish with your own estimates for books, clothes and the school run. Any deposit the school promises to repay belongs on a separate line, not the total you are spending. Billing months matter: Fazaia says tuition is paid for all twelve months, with two months collected before the summer break, Lahore School System says existing pupils pay for the full twelve months including May to August, and Lahore School System also requires Class 9 and 10 pupils to pay some months in advance. Our second table works through two schools whose 2026-27 cards are public; ISOI is left out because its page does not say what period its tuition covers. It cannot be done honestly from a PEIRA filing alone, because the register does not say what period its figures cover. Use /islamabad and sector pages such as /islamabad/f-11 to shortlist schools near home, open profiles such as /schools/lahore-school-system-and-college-islamabad or /schools/international-school-of-islamabad-islamabad, and set finalists side by side on /compare once you hold each school's written schedule.
Islamabad fee bands from official figures (re-opened 8 October 2026)
| Band (SchoolNama grouping) | School or route | Published or filed figure | Session | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Federal government schools, children aged 5-16 | No fee by law; free education defined to include stationery, school bags and transport | Act of 2012 | 2012 free-education Act, s. 2(g) and s. 3 |
| Free | Free places in unaided private schools | One seat in ten per class, Class I upward, free for local disadvantaged pupils; orphans and shuhada children first, per PEIRA | Act of 2012; PEIRA notice 13 Jan 2026 | 2012 Act section 10; PEIRA notice |
| Nominal | The Citizens Foundation (TCF) | Sliding scale Rs 10 to Rs 250 a month; TCF Athal filed 250 (Grade I) to 700 (Grade XI), period not stated | FAQ undated; filing 2026-27 | TCF USA FAQ; PEIRA EMIS 13025 |
| Rs 5,000 to 10,000 a month (PEIRA's moderate band) | Lahore School System & College, NPF | Monthly Rs 8,085 up to Grade V and Rs 8,965 for VI-X; one-off Rs 7,000; yearly Rs 6,000 | 2026-27 | School fee page |
| Above Rs 10,000 a month | OPF College F-11/2 | Rs 14,350 to Rs 16,640 a month for Pre-Nursery to XII; IGCSE Rs 28,910; A Level Rs 32,540 | 2026-27 | School fee sheet dated 4 March 2026 |
| Premium, register filings (no period stated) | LGS IB campus; Headstart Gulmohar; Treehouse; Preparatory School Islamabad | Grade I 57,422; 46,900; 45,250 (all 2026-27); PSI 44,500 (2025-26) | As shown | PEIRA EMIS 51138, 55037, 51102, 55022 |
| Premium, US dollars | International School of Islamabad | Tuition $12,877 (pre-K) to $29,471 (Grade 12); period not stated | 2026-27 | ISOI fees page |
| Not published | The City School, Froebel's, Headstart and PSI websites | No fee amounts on the pages we opened | Checked 8 Oct 2026 | School websites |
Year-one cost for a new pupil at two schools with public 2026-27 cards
| Line item | Lahore School System, Grade I (Rs) | OPF College F-11/2, Pre-Nursery to V (Rs) | Ask your school |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 97,020 (8,085 x 12; the school says existing pupils pay all 12 months, May to August included) | 174,720 (we assumed 12 bills of 14,560; the sheet gives no month count) | Which months are invoiced, and do any fall due early? |
| Admission, registration or development (one-time) | 7,000 | 20,000 | Do you get any back if your child withdraws? |
| Annual charges | 6,000 | None listed | What does the annual charge cover? |
| Subtotal: tuition, joining and annual charges | 110,020 | 194,720 | Get the total in writing |
| Other charges named without an amount | Student ID card and prospectus | None | Ask for every unpriced item |
| Books and uniform | Not published | Not published | What does this class's textbook list cost, and how many uniform sets are needed? |
| Transport | Not published | 60,000 within 8 km (5,000 x 12); 78,000 for 8.1-16 km; 102,000 beyond 16.1 km, if billed for 12 months | Your distance band's rate and the months it is charged |
| Refundable deposit (kept separate) | None listed | 29,120 security | When and on what terms is it repaid? Get this on paper |
| Cash needed in year one | 110,020 plus ID card, books, uniform and transport | 283,840 with the nearest transport band and the 29,120 refundable security, plus books and uniform | Your school's total |
Checklist before you decide
- ✓Schedule of Financial Charges: ask for it before admission; PEIRA requires it to list every fee and the session dates.
- ✓Joining charges (admission, registration or development): how much, the due date, and what comes back if you withdraw.
- ✓Security deposit: the amount (two months' tuition at the two schools we checked that state it), the refund conditions and how long a refund takes.
- ✓Tuition: the rate for your child's grade at that campus, and which months are invoiced, summer and advance months included.
- ✓Yearly charges by any name (annual fund, resource or development): the sum and its purpose.
- ✓Examinations: school test charges, and FBISE or Cambridge entry costs in board years.
- ✓Books and stationery: what this year's list costs, and an assurance that you can shop anywhere, as PEIRA's policy says.
- ✓Uniform: the price of one full set, how many sets you need, and confirmation that no single supplier is compulsory.
- ✓Transport: the school's monthly van charge for your distance band, or a written quote from a private provider.
- ✓Fee rises: last year's increase, and PEIRA's written permission if any rise went above five percent.
- ✓Register check: the school's latest PEIRA filing, read as a filed figure, compared with the card the school gives you.
Frequently asked questions
What price bands do Islamabad schools fall into?
From the official figures we re-checked: government schools are free by law for ages five to sixteen; TCF uses a Rs 10 to 250 a month sliding scale; Lahore School System charges Rs 8,085 to 8,965 a month for 2026-27; OPF College F-11/2 charges Rs 14,350 to 32,540 a month; and the International School of Islamabad lists tuition from $12,877 to $29,471. The premium PEIRA filings we tabled reach 57,422 for Grade I, with no period stated.
What one-time charges apply when a child joins?
Usually an admission or registration fee and often a refundable deposit. For 2026-27, Lahore School System charges Rs 7,000 admission, OPF College F-11/2 Rs 20,000 to 35,000 admission plus a refundable security of Rs 28,700 to 65,080, and ISOI a $400 application fee and a $6,975 development fee. On the PEIRA register, the Treehouse lists 250,000 for registration and Preparatory School Islamabad 350,000 for admission.
What do textbooks and uniforms typically add in Islamabad?
None of the Islamabad schools whose fees we checked publishes book or uniform prices, so price your class's book list and one uniform set before you commit. PEIRA's policy bars schools from forcing parents to buy these from a particular vendor or the school's own shop. TCF's US affiliate says families who cannot afford uniforms and books get them free.
Can the school run change what a year costs in Islamabad?
It can add a large share. OPF College F-11/2 charges Rs 5,000 a month within 8 km and up to Rs 8,500 beyond 16.1 km for 2026-27, which is Rs 60,000 to 102,000 over twelve months if billed every month. Ask whether summer months are charged, and get written quotes from the school van or a private provider.
Are the fees on PEIRA's register monthly?
The register does not say. Its fee reports print one number per class and year with no period, and one school filed two 2026-27 columns where one figure is about twelve times the other. One school's filed figure did match its monthly card, but treat every register figure as a filed number and get the billing schedule from the school.
What is the legal limit on a yearly fee increase in Islamabad?
PEIRA's 2021 policy lets a school add up to five percent a year after informing the regulator; between six and eight percent needs its approval first, and nothing may change mid-session. In January 2026 ProPakistani quoted PEIRA's acting chairman as saying no school may exceed eight percent under any circumstances, and Dawn reported the same eight percent annual ceiling.
How should I set two Islamabad schools' annual costs side by side?
Use the worksheet above. Count how many months of tuition each school invoices and multiply, then put the joining charges, yearly charges and board or school exam charges on top, and finish with what books, clothes and the daily journey will cost your family. Hold deposits you will get back in their own row, and judge schools on the full sum, not the monthly rate.
Sources
- LSS website: 2026-27 tuition, admission and annual charges, NPF campus
- OPF College F-11/2: fee structure page
- OPF College F-11/2: fee sheet dated 4 March 2026 for the 2026-27 session (image)
- ISOI website: dollar fee schedule for 2026-27
- Fazaia Education System School: FESS fee policy
- PEIRA portal: searchable school list with fee reports, opened 8 Oct 2026
- ICT-PEIRA filing, EMIS 13025 (TCF secondary school, Athal)
- ICT-PEIRA filing, EMIS 33039 (Lahore School System & College)
- ICT-PEIRA filing, EMIS 51138 (Lahore Grammar School IB campus)
- ICT-PEIRA filing, EMIS 55037 (Headstart Gulmohar)
- ICT-PEIRA filing, EMIS 51102 (The Treehouse School)
- ICT-PEIRA filing, EMIS 55022 (Preparatory School Islamabad)
- ICT-PEIRA filing, EMIS 54053 (Sheikh Zayed International Academy)
- PEIRA policy PDF on fee setting, notified 6 August 2021
- PEIRA circular, 13 January 2026: free places, orphans and shuhada first
- Act XXIV of 2012 on free and compulsory schooling (I-SAPS copy)
- FDE website page linking Model School admission policy
- TCF USA: FAQs (undated)
- The Millennium Education: FAQs
- The City School: admissions process
- ProPakistani, 17 Jan 2026: PEIRA sets annual fee increase limit
- Dawn (24 January 2026) on PEIRA compliance notices and the yearly 8pc limit
- The Express Tribune, 28 Sep 2026: parents on rising private school fees
