Islamabad24 Islamabad government schools and colleges closed indefinitely from 22 September as police are housed on campus
SchoolNama
guideIslamabad

Headstart vs Froebel's Islamabad: Learning Style, Fees and O Level Pathway

Both teach Cambridge routes, but Headstart adds an IB continuum at Kuri and a Matric option listed against Gulmohar on its admission form, and its filed fees vary far more by campus. Using both schools' websites and the ICT-PEIRA register, here is where they actually differ.

SchoolNama Editorial · 5 October 2026 · 11 min read

Short answer

No single choice fits every child. Both offer IGCSE or O Level and A Level routes in Islamabad. Headstart adds IB at its Kuri campus and, on its admission form, Matric listed against Gulmohar, while Froebel's website names only Cambridge and Pearson Edexcel. Headstart's filed fees range far more widely between campuses. Pick the campus that goes as far as your child needs, at a fee you have in writing.

How we researched this: Research was done on 5 October 2026. It covered the websites of Headstart and Froebel's and every Headstart record and five of Froebel's six Islamabad records on the ICT-PEIRA register (the sixth, Froebel's International College, EMIS 34044, filed Grade XI and XII at Rs 22,500 and an Rs 50,000 admission fee for 2024-25 and has no enrolment return), including fee filings and enrolment returns. We also counted SchoolNama's own listings with a script. We rank neither school, and our directory's placeholder fees and demo reviews were left out.

Start with the shape of each name, because it decides how useful any comparison can be. Headstart's homepage describes 11 schools across Islamabad, Rawalpindi and Lahore, and its menu names six Islamabad entries: the Kuri and Gulmohar campuses, branches on Kaghan Road (F-8), Sumbal Road (F-10) and Nazim-ud-Din Road (F-7), and one called Secret Garden. Its GT Road branch, which Headstart files under Rawalpindi, sits opposite Gate 1 of DHA Phase II, and the ICT-PEIRA register, the regulator for private schools in the capital, lists a Headstart school at that address as Islamabad. The campuses differ sharply in scope: Headstart's own pages give the F-7 branch an age range of 2.5 to 7, GT Road 2.5 to 16, Gulmohar 3.5 to 18, and Kuri 2 to 17-plus. Froebel's is the simpler map. Its contact page lists five Islamabad schools (F-7, F-11, Gulberg Greens, Soan on GT Road, and Peshawar Road) plus Froebel's International College on the GT Road, and a single website covers all of them. Froebel's About page says the school began in 1975 with 10 students and four teachers in part of a house. Headstart's CEO message speaks of over 32 years and gives no founding year. Every size and history claim here comes from the schools themselves and none has been checked independently.

The learning style is where the two names differ most, and both pitches are claims to test rather than findings. Headstart says its curriculum rests on Cambridge International and the International Baccalaureate, and that at the elementary and middle school levels students learn through inquiry. Its CEO's message also calls the school's robotics programme 'iconic'. Froebel's says it uses the International Early Years Curriculum from Playgroup to Prep and the International Primary Curriculum in Years 1 to 5, calls itself an IPC pioneer in Pakistan, teaches Islamiyat and Urdu in primary, and splits History and Geography into separate subjects from Year 6. Its wording stresses character education and a 'moral compass'. Neither description tells you how a class feels day to day, so ask each school to show you the term plan, a marked notebook and the homework policy for the grade your child would join.

The O Level pathway question has a clear answer on paper for Froebel's and a more campus-dependent one for Headstart. Froebel's website says Years 9 to 13 lead to IGCSE and A Level from Pearson Edexcel and Cambridge, with Medical, Engineering and Business or Humanities tracks, and its college page adds BTEC. We found no Matric or FSc on Froebel's website. Headstart's picture varies by branch. Its Kuri page lists Cambridge IGCSE and AS and A Levels as well as the IB Primary Years, Middle Years and Diploma programmes. Its Gulmohar page lists Cambridge, Edexcel and Aga Khan University Examination Board programmes, and its admission form labels the Gulmohar H-11 option 'M1-A Levels/Matriculation' and the GT Road option 'PG-O Levels'. The ICT-PEIRA register classes all three of its Headstart records as O/A Level. So for a child who might need a national board certificate, Headstart's homepage menu also lists a Matriculation section and its form lists SSC-I and SSC-II without naming a campus, so ask every campus, starting with Gulmohar, which grades take the board route; Gulmohar is the first to ask about, and Froebel's is not an option on the evidence of its website. If you are weighing the certificates themselves, see our explainers at /news/igcse-vs-o-levels-pakistan and /news/o-levels-vs-matric-in-pakistan.

Check how far each campus actually goes before you trust a brochure. On the PEIRA register, each school submits a class-by-class head count about itself. Headstart's Kuri return (2025) shows 67 pupils in the first A Level year and 43 in the second, and Gulmohar's return (2026) shows 121 and 90. The GT Road return (2026) stops at a single O Level class of 33, which fits Headstart's own 'PG till IGCSE 2' description of that branch. Among Froebel's Islamabad schools, the 2025 returns show A Level pupils at F-7 (98 and 68), Peshawar Road (44 and 35) and Gulberg Greens (32 and 18); Soan stops at the third IGCSE year and F-11 at Grade VIII. In practical terms, a child at Headstart GT Road, Froebel's Soan or Froebel's F-11 will have to change campus to reach A Level, so ask early which campus takes the final two years. Total pupils per return were: Headstart Kuri 976, Gulmohar 1,768, GT Road 592; Froebel's F-7 1,339, Peshawar Road 675, Gulberg Greens 654, Soan 289, F-11 199. These counts are school-supplied.

The IB is the other thing separating them. Headstart's homepage says its Kuri campus is an IB World School authorised to offer the Primary Years, Middle Years and Diploma programmes, and that its Lahore campus is a candidate school for the Primary Years Programme. We could not confirm this against the IB organisation's own directory, which refused our automated request, so please look the campus up there yourself. We also note that the Kuri 2025 return on the PEIRA register labels senior pupils as IGCSE and A Level classes only, with no class marked as IB Diploma, so ask Kuri how many pupils are on each route. Froebel's does not claim any IB programme on the pages we read. Our explainer at /news/ib-vs-cambridge-pakistan sets the two routes side by side.

On fees, neither school publishes a class-wise fee table on the pages we read. The Headstart campus pages we opened each carry the same line reading 'Fees AED 45,000', in dirhams, which looks like template text from a website theme, so we have ignored it. The ICT-PEIRA register is therefore the best public guide. It shows the class fees each school filed for up to five years, does not say whether they are monthly, and leaves responsibility for accuracy with the school. For 2024-25, the latest year in which every campus here has a filing, Grade I was Rs 57,200 at Headstart Kuri, Rs 42,600 at Gulmohar and Rs 35,300 at GT Road, against Rs 34,883 at each of Froebel's five Islamabad schools. At the top of the school, Kuri filed Rs 74,500 for O Level and for A Level, Gulmohar Rs 53,900 for O Level and Rs 56,300 for A Level, GT Road Rs 43,800 for O Level, and Froebel's Rs 47,383 for each IGCSE year (Rs 47,633 at F-7) and Rs 49,750 for A Level (Rs 51,167 at F-7). The fairest direct pair is the two schools that sit opposite Gate 1 of DHA Phase II on GT Road: Headstart's Grade I was Rs 35,300 and O Level Rs 43,800, while Froebel's Soan filed Rs 34,883 and Rs 47,383 for IGCSE.

The register also shows that Headstart's newest filings are higher and that they differ by campus. Headstart GT Road and Gulmohar have filed for 2026-27: at GT Road, Playgroup Rs 34,800, Grade I Rs 39,100 and O Level Rs 48,400 with a Rs 75,000 registration fee and Rs 45,400 of other annual charges; at Gulmohar, Montessori Rs 42,600, Grade I Rs 46,900, O Level Rs 59,300 and A Level Rs 62,000 with an Rs 80,000 admission fee and Rs 49,500 of other annual charges. Kuri's newest filing is for 2024-25, so there is no 2025-26 or 2026-27 figure for the campus many parents mean when they say Headstart; for that year it listed a Rs 100,000 admission fee and Rs 45,000 of other annual charges. No Froebel's school has filed after 2024-25 either, and the five school filings list a Rs 30,000 admission fee and no other charges. That does not prove Froebel's has no other charges, only that none were filed. Because the filings carry no stated billing period, ask both schools for a written schedule that says whether a figure is per month and what is payable on joining. To see what each column on a filing means, read /news/school-fees-in-islamabad.

Commute and transport could decide the matter. Headstart's Islamabad branches are in F-7, F-8, F-10, H-11 and Kuri, with GT Road and other addresses on the Rawalpindi side, while Froebel's Islamabad schools are in F-7, F-11, Gulberg Greens, GT Road and Peshawar Road. F-7 is the one sector where both names are present, at different addresses: Froebel's in F-7/2 and Headstart on Nazim-ud-Din Road in F-7/1, though Headstart's page says its F-7 branch runs only to Grade 2. On the pages we read, neither school describes a school-run transport service. SchoolNama does not yet list a checked pick-and-drop provider in Islamabad, so ask the campus office which van operators its families already use and get the monthly price and route in writing. Area pages such as /islamabad/f-7 show what else is nearby.

Admissions and reviews both need honesty. Headstart's homepage invites online registration, and its admission form recommends a campus for each class, from Pre-Nursery to A Levels and the Diploma at Kuri Road. On the pages we read it publishes no test dates, criteria or deadline, and Froebel's offers an online enquiry form but likewise no dates. Treat any date you see on a third-party site as unconfirmed until the school's admissions desk repeats it in writing. We cannot tell you what parents think of either name. SchoolNama does not hold enough verified parent reviews of these campuses to give a fair picture, and we found no published parent survey, so we have quoted no ratings. Ask current parents at the gate about homework load, how teachers communicate, fee rises and how bullying is handled.

Our own directory also needs tidying, which affects how you use it. A script over SchoolNama's 6,687 campus records found 13 Islamabad listings with a Headstart-style name, of which only 2 link to our Headstart network record. Several are duplicates or mislabelled: our directory record numbered 32026 carries the Kuri address, although ICT-PEIRA's EMIS 32026 is the GT Road campus and the Kuri address belongs to EMIS 25002. We therefore point to the Google-sourced profiles below rather than the older records, and we show no directory fees. Useful profiles include /schools/headstart-international-kuri-campus-islamabad, /schools/headstart-school-gulmohar-campus-h11-islamabad, /schools/headstart-school-gtr-branch-islamabad and /schools/froebels-international-school-gulberg-greens-campus-islamabad.

To decide, work through four steps. First, fix the exam route: if Matric might be needed, ask Headstart Gulmohar; if IB is on your list, ask Headstart Kuri how its Diploma class is composed; if IGCSE and A Level are enough, both names qualify. Second, choose a campus that goes as far as your child will need, because several branches of both names stop early. Third, map the daily commute from home. Fourth, get each finalist's 2026-27 fee schedule in writing, set it beside its latest PEIRA filing, and then visit both on a school day. Put the finalists side by side on /compare and use /tutors if a change of syllabus leaves gaps.

Class fees filed with ICT-PEIRA for Grade I and the senior class, 2024-25 (school-supplied; the register does not state the billing period)

Campus (as registered)Grade I (2024-25)Highest class fee filed (2024-25)Admission or registration feeOther annual charges filed
Headstart Kuri (EMIS 25002)Rs 57,200Rs 74,500 (O Level and A Level)Admission Rs 100,000Rs 45,000
Headstart Gulmohar, H-11/4 (EMIS 55037)Rs 42,600Rs 56,300 (A Level)Registration Rs 80,000Rs 45,000
Headstart GT Road, opposite DHA-II Gate 1 (EMIS 32026)Rs 35,300Rs 43,800 (O Level)Registration Rs 75,000Rs 43,200
Froebel's F-7/2 (EMIS 55008)Rs 34,883Rs 51,167 (A Level)Admission Rs 30,000None listed
Froebel's Peshawar Road and Gulberg Greens (each)Rs 34,883Rs 49,750 (A Level)Admission Rs 30,000None listed
Froebel's Soan, opposite DHA-II Gate 1 (EMIS 32022)Rs 34,883Rs 47,383 (IGCSE)Admission Rs 30,000None listed
Froebel's F-11/4 (EMIS 32069)Rs 34,883Rs 36,250 (Grade VIII)Admission Rs 30,000None listed

Newest Headstart filings on the ICT-PEIRA register (school-supplied; billing period not stated)

CampusPlaygroup or MontessoriGrade IO LevelA LevelFee on joiningOther annual charges
Headstart GT Road, 2026-27 (EMIS 32026)Rs 34,800 (Playgroup)Rs 39,100Rs 48,400No line filedRegistration Rs 75,000Rs 45,400
Headstart Gulmohar, 2026-27 (EMIS 55037)Rs 42,600 (Montessori)Rs 46,900Rs 59,300Rs 62,000Admission Rs 80,000Rs 49,500
Headstart Kuri, latest filing 2024-25 (EMIS 25002)Rs 53,000 (Playgroup)Rs 57,200Rs 74,500Rs 74,500Admission Rs 100,000Rs 45,000

Latest enrolment returns on the ICT-PEIRA register (school-supplied; return year as shown)

CampusReturn yearPupilsTeachersHighest class with pupils
Headstart Kuri2025976123A Level II (43 pupils)
Headstart Gulmohar20261,768126A Level II (90 pupils)
Headstart GT Road202659244O Level (33 pupils)
Froebel's F-7/220251,339116A Level II (68 pupils)
Froebel's Peshawar Road202567556A Level II (35 pupils)
Froebel's Gulberg Greens202565452A Level II (18 pupils)
Froebel's Soan202528930IGCSE III (5 pupils)
Froebel's F-11/4202519923Grade VIII (7 pupils)

Checklist before you decide

  • ✓Confirm which Headstart or Froebel's campus you would use, since fees, ages served and exam routes differ campus by campus.
  • ✓Decide early whether Matric or FSc might be needed: Froebel's website names only IGCSE, A Level and BTEC, and Headstart's admission form lists Matriculation against a campus name only for Gulmohar.
  • ✓Ask the highest class the campus teaches and which campus would take your child for the last two years; Headstart GT Road ends at O Level and Froebel's Soan and F-11 end before A Level.
  • ✓If IB matters, look the campus up on the IB organisation's own directory and ask Headstart Kuri how many pupils sit its Diploma.
  • ✓Before paying anything, collect a written 2026-27 schedule that itemises tuition, registration or admission, annual charges and deposits, and says whether each figure is monthly.
  • ✓Look the campus up on the ICT-PEIRA register and compare its newest filing year with the invoice you are given.
  • ✓Ask what books, uniforms and any extra programmes (robotics, trips, exams) cost beyond tuition.
  • ✓Plan the commute and transport before accepting a place, and get a written van price and route from an operator the campus or other parents recommend.
  • ✓Visit both finalists on a school day, talk to current parents, and compare the two campuses on /compare.

Frequently asked questions

Is Headstart better than Froebel's in Islamabad?

No single answer suits every child. Both run IGCSE or O Level and A Level in Islamabad. Headstart says its Kuri campus is an IB World School and lists Matriculation for its Gulmohar campus on its admission form, while Froebel's website names only Cambridge and Pearson Edexcel routes. Weigh the particular campuses within reach by exam route, written fees and journey time.

Which is more expensive, Headstart or Froebel's?

It depends on the campus and year. In 2024-25 fees filed with ICT-PEIRA, Grade I was Rs 57,200 at Headstart Kuri, Rs 42,600 at Gulmohar and Rs 35,300 at GT Road, against Rs 34,883 at each Froebel's school. PEIRA does not state the billing period. Headstart GT Road and Gulmohar have since filed 2026-27 fees; no Froebel's school has filed after 2024-25. Ask each campus for its current schedule.

Does Headstart offer Matric?

Headstart's Gulmohar campus page lists Aga Khan University Examination Board programmes and its admission form labels the Gulmohar option 'M1-A Levels/Matriculation'. The ICT-PEIRA register classes Gulmohar as O/A Level, and Headstart's other campuses name Cambridge or IB routes, so confirm with Gulmohar which grades take the board route.

Does Headstart offer the IB?

Headstart says its Kuri campus is an IB World School authorised for the Primary Years, Middle Years and Diploma programmes. We could not confirm this on the IB organisation's own directory, so verify it there and ask Kuri how many pupils take the Diploma.

Does Froebel's offer Matric or FSc?

We found no Matric or FSc on Froebel's website, which describes IGCSE and A Level from Pearson Edexcel and Cambridge, plus BTEC at Froebel's International College.

Which campuses teach A Level?

In ICT-PEIRA returns, A Level pupils were reported at Headstart Kuri (2025) and Gulmohar (2026) and at Froebel's F-7, Peshawar Road and Gulberg Greens (2025). Headstart GT Road stops at O Level, Froebel's Soan at the third IGCSE year and F-11 at Grade VIII.

What do parents say about Headstart and Froebel's?

SchoolNama does not yet have enough verified parent reviews of these campuses to give a fair summary, and we found no published parent survey. Ask current parents about homework, communication, fee rises and bullying.

#Headstart#Froebel's#Islamabad#school comparison#which school is better#IGCSE#A Level#O Level#IB#Matric#school fees#PEIRA

Sources

Comments

No comments yet. Be the first.

Posting as a guest. Sign in to post under your name.

Schools mentioned

More from SchoolNama