Best Matric Schools in Peshawar (2026): Board Results, School Checks & Parent Checklist
BISE Peshawar does not publish a school-by-school result table. This guide covers what the 2026 Class 10 result does show, which Peshawar schools sit the Federal Board, how to check a private school's registration, and what to ask before you pay an admission fee.
Short answer
No public data supports naming one best Matric school in Peshawar. BISE Peshawar does not post school-by-school results; its gazette is searched by roll number, and schools can buy a copy on CD. What parents can check is the 2026 board result (70.15% of 95,496 candidates passed, against 83.5% in 2025), a private school's registration with KP's regulator, and which board it uses.
How we researched this: On 28 September 2026 we read BISE Peshawar's website, including its SSC result press release, position-holder, gazette-fee, fee-structure and board-history pages. We took the 2026 and 2025 result figures from Dawn, Pakistan Today, ProPakistani and The Nation, downloaded FBISE's affiliated list and KP PSRA's register of private schools for Peshawar district, and counted the entries ourselves. SchoolNama figures were counted from our Peshawar listings. We did not rank schools.
Search for the best Matric schools in Peshawar and you will mostly find lists of well-known names with no stated method behind them. This guide takes a different route. It starts with what the Board of Intermediate and Secondary Education (BISE) Peshawar actually published for the 2026 Class 10 exam, adds two official lists we counted ourselves, and is plain about what cannot yet be compared school by school. SchoolNama's Peshawar city page lists the individual campuses we hold.
Start with the board's limits. We found no institution-wise pass percentage file on BISE Peshawar's website. Its gazette-fee page says institutions can get the result gazette as a soft copy on CD for Rs 200, applied for through the board's secrecy section. For students, results are looked up by roll number. So there is no public table showing how many candidates each Peshawar school entered or how many passed. The board also covers more than the city: its history page lists Peshawar and Khyber districts, Charsadda (including Shabqadar), Mohmand and Chitral. Board-wide figures are not a Peshawar-city result.
The board's press release set 4 August 2026 for the SSC Annual-I result, with position holders announced at 11am and the general result on the website at 2pm. Dawn, citing the board's result gazette, reported that 95,496 candidates were entered for the Class 10 exam, 66,988 passed and 27,788 failed; ProPakistani lists 720 of them as absent. ProPakistani put the overall pass rate at 70.15%. That is a sharp fall from 2025, when The Nation reported 76,484 passes from 91,589 candidates, a pass rate of 83.5%. Regular students collect their Detailed Marks Certificates through their schools, which the press release said would be available from 10 August.
The group and gender split is more useful to a family than the headline. Dawn's figures for regular candidates show girls in the Science Group passing at 84.95% and boys at 69.71%. In the Arts (Humanities) Group, girls passed at 64.86% and boys at 36.39%: only 1,294 of 3,576 regular Arts boys passed. Adding Dawn's four groups together, we count 87,828 regular candidates, of whom 63,458 passed (72.25%). ProPakistani reported private candidates, who sit without a school, passing at 51.48% for girls and 44.37% for boys. A school's result depends heavily on which group its students take and whether weaker students sit privately.
Toppers tell you about the top of one class, not about a whole school. According to Dawn and ProPakistani, all three overall and Science Group positions in 2026 went to students of Peshawar Model Girls High School-II on Dalazak Road, with 1,182, 1,178 and 1,177 marks out of 1,200. The Humanities Group was topped with 1,088 marks, and, according to Dawn, all three positions for special children went to students of Umeed Special Education School on Warsak Road. In 2025, The Nation reported the first two Science Group places going to Peshawar Model School's Girls Branch-2 and a joint third to its girls' branch on Dalazak Road. We have not repeated students' names.
A second board matters in Peshawar. On the Federal Board's (FBISE) affiliated list we counted 29 entries at SSC level with Peshawar addresses. Nineteen are cantonment or armed-forces-linked schools: four Army Public School entries, nine F.G. schools (including two F.G. Fazaia schools), three Fazaia colleges, Cantt Public Boys High School, CB Public School and College for Girls, and Fauji Foundation Model School in Defence Colony. The other ten include IIUI Schools and College's Ring Road campus, Global School System on University Road, Allied School's Gulberg campus, a TCF secondary campus and a special education centre for hearing-impaired children in Hayatabad. Students at these schools sit FBISE papers, so they are not in the BISE Peshawar figures above.
For private schools, the check that matters most is registration. The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Private Schools Regulatory Authority (PSRA) publishes a register by district. On 28 September 2026 its Peshawar list had 1,805 entries: 625 high schools, 191 higher secondary schools, 631 middle schools and 358 primary schools. Of the 816 high and higher secondary entries, 765 were marked active, 41 blocked, 5 dormant, 4 suspended and 1 closed. Chains register each campus separately, often under similar names; 21 entries include the words 'Peshawar Model', for example. Note the registration number of the exact campus you are visiting and check its status. The register gives level and status only, not board, gender or fees.
Government schools are run by the Elementary and Secondary Education Department, whose website links to district education offices and its annual school census. Its home page reports 34,784 government schools across the province. For a government high school in Peshawar, the questions are the same as for a private one: which board, which groups are taught in Classes 9 and 10, and how many students the school entered last year.
SchoolNama's own Peshawar data cannot yet do this filtering for you, and we would rather say so. We hold 141 Peshawar listings, all of them basic profiles, and 113 have no curriculum recorded. Only one private listing has a curriculum tag, and it is an O Level school. All 27 listings tagged Matric are marked public, and the tag is unreliable: seven have 'college' in the name and four are primary or junior schools. At least four listings marked public, including Peshawar Model School, Warsak Model School and Superior Model School and Iqra Academy, share names with schools on PSRA's private register. Our FG Boys Public School, FG Girls Public School and Army Public School listings do not record their board. The evidence in this guide comes from the boards' and regulator's own documents, not from our tags.
Fees are where the evidence is thinnest. SchoolNama holds no fee record for any Peshawar listing, and we have not used fee figures from aggregator sites because we could not trace them to the schools. Ask each school for a written first-year cost covering admission, security, annual charges, and board registration and exam fees. BISE Peshawar publishes its SSC admission-fee notification on its fee-structure page, which also lists charges such as re-totalling at Rs 1,500 per paper.
Marks matter less than several other things. Board fit comes first: an FBISE cantonment school and a BISE Peshawar city school prepare students for different papers and timetables. The Science or Arts choice matters too; in 2026 the gap between regular Science and Arts boys was more than 33 points. Many Peshawar schools teach boys and girls in separate branches, so check how Classes 9 and 10 are organised at the campus you visit, and whether it continues to FSc or ICS.
Commute is the last check and often the deciding one. SchoolNama does not yet list any pick-and-drop providers or tutors in Peshawar, so ask each school about its own vans and try the journey at school time. Once you have two or three candidates, SchoolNama's Peshawar city page and compare page show what we hold for each listing. Treat those listings as a starting point, and confirm the board, the Class 10 result and the fees with each school.
BISE Peshawar Class 10 (SSC Annual-I) results, 2025 and 2026
| Measure | 2025 (The Nation) | 2026 (Dawn; pass rate from ProPakistani) |
|---|---|---|
| Result declared | Reported 29 July 2025 | 4 August 2026 |
| Candidates entered for Class 10 (incl. absentees) | 91,589 | 95,496 |
| Passed | 76,484 | 66,988 |
| Failed | 14,530 | 27,788 |
| Overall pass rate | 83.5% | 70.15% |
BISE Peshawar 2026 Class 10 regular candidates by group and sex
| Group | Candidates | Passed | Pass rate |
|---|---|---|---|
| Science, girls | 24,813 | 21,078 | 84.95% |
| Science, boys | 52,263 | 36,432 | 69.71% |
| Arts, girls | 7,176 | 4,654 | 64.86% |
| Arts, boys | 3,576 | 1,294 | 36.39% |
| All regular girls (our sum) | 31,989 | 25,732 | 80.44% |
| All regular boys (our sum) | 55,839 | 37,726 | 67.56% |
| All regular candidates (our sum) | 87,828 | 63,458 | 72.25% |
Peshawar institutions at SSC level on FBISE's affiliated list (not a ranking)
| Institution (as named by FBISE) | Setting | Boys / girls (from the name) | FBISE level |
|---|---|---|---|
| Army Public School & College for Girls, 56-A The Mall, Peshawar Cantt | Cantonment | Girls | SSC/HSSC |
| Army Public School and Degree College for Boys, Peshawar Cantt | Cantonment | Boys | SSC/HSSC |
| Army Public School (APS), Babar Road, Peshawar Cantonment | Cantonment | Not stated | SSC |
| Army Public School, Warsak Garrison | Cantonment | Not stated | SSC |
| Cantt Public Boys High School, Tariq Road, R.A. Bazar | Cantonment | Boys | SSC |
| CB Public School & College for Girls, Khadim Hussain Road | Cantonment | Girls | SSC/HSSC |
| F.G. Public School (Boys), Khyber Road | Cantonment | Boys | SSC |
| F.G. Public School (Girls), Stadium Road | Cantonment | Girls | SSC |
| F.G. Girls Public High School, Khyber Road | Cantonment | Girls | SSC |
| F.G. Girls High School No. 4, School Road | Cantonment | Girls | SSC |
| F.G. Public School, Tariq Road | Cantonment | Not stated | SSC |
| F.G. Public Secondary School No. 1, Warsak Road | Cantonment | Not stated | SSC |
| F.G. Public School, Warsak Colony | Cantonment | Not stated | SSC |
| F.G. Fazaia Public School, PAF Camp Badaber | PAF | Not stated | SSC |
| F.G. Fazaia Secondary School (2nd shift), PAF Base Shaheen Camp | PAF | Not stated | SSC/HSSC |
| Fazaia Degree College, 30 Rafique Road | PAF | Not stated | SSC/HSSC |
| Fazaia Inter College, Shaheen Camp | PAF | Not stated | SSC/HSSC |
| Fazaia Intermediate College, PAF Camp Badaber | PAF | Not stated | SSC/HSSC |
| Fauji Foundation Model School, Defence Colony | Cantonment | Not stated | SSC |
| IIUI Schools and College, Ring Road campus | Elsewhere in Peshawar | Not stated | SSC/HSSC |
| Global School System, University Road | Elsewhere in Peshawar | Not stated | SSC/HSSC |
| Allied School, Gulberg campus, Ezzat Khan Chowk | Elsewhere in Peshawar | Not stated | SSC |
| The Smart School, Gulbahar campus | Elsewhere in Peshawar | Not stated | SSC |
| Jamal International College & School System, Dora Road | Elsewhere in Peshawar | Not stated | SSC/HSSC |
| Leeds School and College of Science and Arts, Faqirabad | Elsewhere in Peshawar | Not stated | SSC/HSSC |
| Brains Institute Peshawar | Elsewhere in Peshawar | Not stated | SSC/HSSC |
| TCF Begum Khwaja Usaf Campus (secondary, afternoon), Shahi Bala | Elsewhere in Peshawar | Not stated | SSC |
| Special Education Centre for Hearing Impaired Children, Hayatabad Phase-V | Elsewhere in Peshawar | Not stated | SSC |
| Al-Furqan Children Academy (online education), Wazir Bagh | Elsewhere in Peshawar | Not stated | SSC/HSSC |
Checklist before you decide
- ✓Ask which board the school's Class 10 students sit, BISE Peshawar or FBISE, and find the school on that board's affiliated list.
- ✓For a private school, note the PSRA registration number of the exact campus you are visiting and check that the register shows it as active.
- ✓Ask the school how many students it entered for Class 10 last year and how many passed; BISE Peshawar does not publish this school by school.
- ✓Ask how many students started Class 9 with the school and how many sat Class 10 under its name rather than as private candidates.
- ✓Check whether the campus teaches both Science and Arts groups, and which group your child would be placed in.
- ✓Confirm whether boys and girls are taught in separate branches for Classes 9 and 10, and which branch enters the board exam.
- ✓If the school is part of a chain, confirm that the campus you are visiting is the one that enters Matric candidates.
- ✓Get a written first-year cost: monthly tuition, admission fee, security deposit, annual charges, and board registration and exam fees.
- ✓Ask about sibling discounts, merit scholarships and need-based concessions.
- ✓Ask whether the school continues to FSc or ICS, and what marks it expects for entry.
- ✓Try the commute at school time, and ask whether the school runs its own vans.
Frequently asked questions
Which is the best Matric school in Peshawar?
No published evidence supports naming one. BISE Peshawar does not post school-by-school results, and toppers show only the top of one class. Shortlist schools whose board, PSRA registration, full Class 10 result and fees you can check, and choose on fit.
What was the BISE Peshawar Matric pass rate in 2026?
Dawn reported that 66,988 of 95,496 Class 10 candidates passed the SSC Annual-I 2026 exam, and ProPakistani gave the pass rate as 70.15%. In 2025, The Nation reported 83.5%. The board declared the 2026 result on 4 August.
How can I check a particular Peshawar school's Matric result?
BISE Peshawar does not publish an institution-wise result file. Schools can get the result gazette from the board on CD, so ask the school for its Class 10 entries and passes for the last exam. For an FBISE school, ask the school for its result.
Do Peshawar Matric schools use BISE Peshawar or the Federal Board?
Most sit BISE Peshawar papers: we counted only 29 Peshawar entries at SSC level on FBISE's affiliated list, 19 of them cantonment or armed-forces-linked schools such as Army Public, F.G., Fazaia and Fauji Foundation schools. Ask the school which board its Class 10 students sit.
How do I know a private school in Peshawar is registered?
KP's Private Schools Regulatory Authority publishes a register by district. On 28 September 2026 it listed 1,805 private schools in Peshawar district, with each campus's level, registration number and status. Check the exact campus, since chains register branches separately.
How much do Matric schools in Peshawar charge?
SchoolNama holds no fee records for Peshawar yet, and we could not trace any fee figures to a school's own published schedule, so we have not quoted them. Ask each school for written first-year costs, and add the board's admission fees from BISE Peshawar's fee-structure page.
Can SchoolNama filter Peshawar schools by Matric?
Not reliably yet. All 27 Peshawar listings tagged Matric are marked public, some of them colleges or primary schools, and 113 of our 141 Peshawar listings have no curriculum recorded. That is why this guide uses the boards' and regulator's own lists.
Sources
- BISE Peshawar — Press release on declaration of SSC Annual-I 2026 result (4 Aug 2026)
- BISE Peshawar — Gazette fee (result gazette supplied to institutions on CD)
- BISE Peshawar — Position holders, SSC Annual-I 2026
- BISE Peshawar — Board history (jurisdiction)
- BISE Peshawar — Fee structure
- BISE Peshawar — Home page (notifications and SSC Annual-II 2026 datesheet)
- Dawn — 30 per cent matric students fail Peshawar board exam (5 Aug 2026)
- Pakistan Today — Heavy failures mark Peshawar matric results as girls take top board positions (5 Aug 2026)
- ProPakistani — Peshawar Board releases Matric result gazette 2026 (4 Aug 2026)
- ProPakistani — Peshawar Board announces Class 10 position holders 2026 (4 Aug 2026)
- The Nation — BISE Peshawar announces Matric, 9th grade exam results (29 Jul 2025)
- FBISE — Affiliated institutes list
- KP PSRA — Registered private schools in KP (district register)
- KP PSRA — Registered private schools, Peshawar district
- KP PSRA — School verification
- KP Elementary & Secondary Education Department
