Islamabad24 Islamabad government schools and colleges closed indefinitely from 22 September as police are housed on campus
SchoolNama
guideKarachi

Best Matric Schools in Karachi (2026): Board Results, Fees & Parent Checklist

No published data supports a fair ranking of Karachi's Matric schools. Here is what 2026 board results actually show, what schools say on their own websites about their exam board, and what to ask before paying an admission fee.

SchoolNama Editorial · 25 September 2026 · 11 min read

Short answer

No published dataset ranks Karachi's Matric schools fairly, so compare evidence instead. Habib Public, Habib Girls', PECHS Girls' and Aga Khan School Kharadhar each state AKU-EB affiliation on their own sites. Falconhouse Grammar cites the Board of Secondary Education, and Nasra's pages mention both boards. News coverage of the 2026 results names top scorers, not school-wide results. Of the schools checked, only Nasra posts fees on the pages we opened.

How we researched this: On 25 September 2026 we opened each school's own website to confirm its exam board and whether it teaches boys, girls or both. We took the 2026 results from coverage of the BSEK and AKU-EB announcements in The Nation, Pakistan Today, The News and ProPakistani, and calculated every SchoolNama figure directly from our Karachi campus records. We did not rank schools, because none of these sources supports a ranking.

Search for the best Matric schools in Karachi and you will mostly find lists built on reputation. The coverage of the 2026 results that we read reported overall pass rates and named top scorers. None of it gave a school-by-school table that parents could use to compare schools, and schools publish their own results unevenly. This guide therefore sticks to what can be checked. It names Karachi schools whose own websites show a Matric (SSC) or board-exam stream and say which board they use, explains what the 2026 board results do and don't tell you, and lists the questions worth asking before you commit.

Matric in Karachi is not a single exam. The Board of Secondary Education Karachi (BSEK) is the city board, set up in 1950, and its 2026 Class 10 Science Group papers alone had 175,200 candidates. The Aga Khan University Examination Board (AKU-EB) is a private board that operates nationally, and a number of Karachi private and trust schools use it instead. More than 26,000 students across Pakistan sat its SSC and HSSC exams in 2026. AKU-EB says its SSC exams are taken over two years, with syllabi in both English and Urdu. Some schools sit the Federal Board (FBISE). FBISE's list of affiliated SSC institutions, dated October 2020, includes Federal Government public schools in Karachi Cantt, Manora Cantt and Malir Cantt, an Army Public School campus in Malir Cantt, Bahria College's Majeed Campus and a Bahria Model Secondary School in Karachi. Before comparing results or fees, find out which board a school actually uses.

BSEK announced its SSC Part-II (Class 10) Science Group annual results on 10 July 2026. According to The Nation and Pakistan Today, 141,688 of the 175,200 candidates who appeared passed, a pass rate of 80.87%. In total, 35,529 candidates earned A-1 grades and 51,022 earned A grades. One ProPakistani report gives the number who passed as 141,868, but the 80.87% rate matches 141,688. ProPakistani reported the top three scorers' schools as Falconhouse Grammar School (North Karachi), Apex School (Model Colony) and Usman Public School Campus 1 (North Karachi). The top mark was 94.55%.

Results also vary a great deal by group and by type of candidate. On 10 September 2026, BSEK announced its Class 9 (SSC Part-I) General Group results: 36.59% of regular candidates and 35.69% of private candidates passed, out of 14,260 who appeared. That is a different class and group from the Class 10 science figures, so don't compare the two directly. It does show why a single 'Karachi Matric pass rate' can mislead. The 2026 exams themselves were troubled. The Nation and Pakistan Today reported allegations of bribery and question-paper leaks, and said a probe report in May confirmed major irregularities in the exams, including the moving of more than 170 exam centres. That is another reason not to rely on one year's headline numbers.

AKU-EB announced its 2026 results on 8 August. According to The Nation and The News, 124 students across Pakistan secured national and regional overall positions, including group-wise positions. The two SSC students who shared the national overall first position were both from Karachi, one from Korangi Academy and one from PECHS Girls' School. Sindh had eight regional overall position holders, and girls took 65% of the top positions nationally. Korangi Academy, run by the Centre for Development of Social Services, describes itself as registered with AKU-EB, teaching from playgroup to Matric and charging a subsidised tuition fee. It does not yet have a SchoolNama listing.

Position holders don't make a ranking. A top score belongs to one student, not to a school. Big networks have many more campuses than single schools, so they are likely to enter more candidates: Falconhouse says it has 12 campuses in Karachi, and Usman Public School System lists 53 campuses. BSEK and AKU-EB set different papers, so their marks are not on the same scale. What tells you more is a school's Class 10 results by group. PECHS Girls' School has published a grade breakdown by group for its 2026 Class 10 (Year 10) students. In Biology, 51 got A-1 and 4 got A. In Computer Science, 31 got A-1 and 1 got A. In Humanities, 8 got A-1, 6 got A and 1 got B. Ask every school you shortlist for a breakdown like this, and ask whether it covers every student who sat the exam.

SchoolNama's own Karachi data can't yet do this filtering for you, and we want to say so plainly. SchoolNama has 1,534 Karachi listings, and 1,286 of them have no curriculum recorded. Of the 246 tagged Matric, every one is a government school, and 34 have 'primary' in their names. No private or trust listing in Karachi carries a Matric tag, although many private schools clearly teach Matric. None of the Karachi listings has a verified fee on file yet. The shortlist below is therefore built from the schools' own websites, not from SchoolNama's tags.

These schools state AKU-EB affiliation on their own sites: Habib Public School, which offers AKU-EB Matriculation alongside Cambridge O Level; Habib Girls' School, whose admissions page says it follows the National Curriculum and is affiliated with AKU-EB; PECHS Girls' School; Aga Khan School, Kharadhar, which offers Science and General groups; and BVS Parsi High School, which runs AKU-EB for Grades 6–10 alongside Cambridge. Nasra School's own pages conflict. Its academics page says it gained AKU-EB affiliation in 2005, while its secondary page lists 'Karachi Board Exams for 9th + 10th classes'. Ask which board its Class 10 students sit.

Falconhouse Grammar School says it is affiliated with Cambridge and the Board of Secondary Education, and that it prepares students for local SSC exams. It also says most of its students take O Level. Its campus list labels most Karachi campuses 'Cambridge System', 'Secondary System' or both, so ask which campus prepares students for SSC. Several other schools run Matric alongside Cambridge. At Karachi Public School, the campus list shows Matric sections on several campuses, and one Gulistan-e-Jauhar extension campus is labelled AKUEB. Usman Public School System lists Matriculation subjects. St. Patrick's High School and The Mama Parsi Girls' Secondary School both run a Matric stream next to Cambridge. None of these last three named its Matric board on the pages we opened, so ask.

On boys, girls and co-ed: the pages we checked show that Habib Girls', PECHS Girls' and Mama Parsi are girls' schools. Habib Public School calls itself a boys' school, and its high school section considers only boys for Class XI. BVS Parsi High School describes itself as an all-boys school. SchoolNama's basic listings for both HPS and BVS come from open map data and currently say co-ed, so go by what the schools say. Usman Public School System's campus list shows every class from Class III upward as girls-only or boys-only. Only the early years, from pre-nursery to Class II at most, are mixed. Aga Khan School, Kharadhar says most of its 1,200-plus students are girls. For the other schools, the pages we opened did not say, so ask the admissions office.

Fees are where the evidence is thinnest. Among the schools we checked, only Nasra School posts a fee schedule on its site. For 2026–27 it lists: - a standard monthly tuition fee of Rs 5,800, which it says may vary slightly by campus and grade - a Rs 10,000 admission fee - a Rs 5,000 refundable security deposit - a Rs 500 application form - Rs 5,200 in annual charges for primary and secondary classes Nasra also says about 10% of its roughly 11,000 students are on need-based full-tuition scholarships. The other schools don't publish fees on the pages we opened. The Habib Education Trust describes financial aid for students at Habib Public School and Habib Girls' School. Karachi Public School mentions 'affordable fees and merit-based scholarships' but gives no figures. For those schools, ask for a written schedule of first-year costs.

Marks matter less than several other things. Board fit comes first. AKU-EB describes its SSC syllabus as built on defined learning outcomes that promote conceptual understanding. Ask any BSEK school how it prepares students beyond the textbook. Next, find out when the stream choice happens, and don't rely on one page for it: Habib Public School's admissions page says the board is chosen at the end of Class V, but its About page says from Class 8. Then check continuity. Habib Public High School's AKU-EB intermediate programme assesses only boys with at least 70% or an equivalent result in Matric or O Level. Students below 70% can ask for reconsideration. Finally, practical fit matters: shift timings (Mama Parsi runs morning and afternoon shifts), single-sex or mixed classes, and the daily commute.

Commute deserves real weight in a city of Karachi's size. SchoolNama doesn't yet list pick-and-drop providers or tutors in Karachi, so confirm van arrangements with the school directly. Once you have two or three candidates, SchoolNama's Karachi city page and compare page will show what we hold for each listing. Treat those listings as a starting point and confirm the details with each school.

Karachi schools whose own websites show a Matric or board-exam stream (checked 25 Sept 2026)

SchoolBoard, as the school's pages state itOther streamBoys / girls / co-edFees published?
Habib Public SchoolAKU-EB (Matriculation)Cambridge O LevelBoys (school site; SchoolNama listing says co-ed)No; Habib Education Trust describes financial aid
Habib Girls' SchoolAffiliated with AKU-EB; National CurriculumNone statedGirlsNo; Habib Education Trust describes financial aid
PECHS Girls' SchoolAKU-EBNone statedGirlsNo
Nasra School (Education Trust Nasra School)Unclear: the academics page cites AKU-EB affiliation (2005), but the secondary page says Karachi Board exams for Classes 9–10. Ask which board Class 10 sitsNone statedNot stated; askYes: Rs 5,800/month standard tuition, 2026–27 (may vary by campus/grade)
Aga Khan School, KharadharAKU-EB, Science and General groupsNone statedMost students are girls (school site); ask about boysNo
BVS Parsi High SchoolAKU-EB (Grades 6–10)Cambridge (Grades 6–11)Boys (school site; SchoolNama listings say co-ed)No
Falconhouse Grammar SchoolBoard of Secondary Education (campuses are labelled 'Cambridge System' or 'Secondary System'; ask which prepares for SSC)Cambridge O Level (most students, per the school)Not stated; askNo
Usman Public School SystemMatriculation subjects listed; board not named on pages checkedO Level at some campusesClass III upward girls-only or boys-onlyNo
Karachi Public SchoolMatric at several campuses; Gulistan-e-Jauhar extension is AKU-EB; others not statedCambridge O LevelNot stated; askNo
St. Patrick's High SchoolMatric; board not named on pages checkedCambridge (to A Level)Not stated clearly; askNo
The Mama Parsi Girls' Secondary SchoolMatriculation; board not named on pages checkedCambridgeGirlsNo

What the 2026 SSC results coverage told parents

BoardResult reportedFiguresSchools named
BSEKClass 10 (SSC Part-II) Science Group, annual 2026 (10 July)175,200 appeared; 141,688 passed; 80.87% pass rate; 35,529 A-1 and 51,022 A gradesTop three: Falconhouse Grammar School, Apex School (Model Colony), Usman Public School Campus 1
BSEKClass 9 (SSC Part-I) General Group, annual 2026 (10 Sept)14,260 appeared; 36.59% pass (regular), 35.69% pass (private)None in the report we used
AKU-EBSSC and HSSC 2026 (8 Aug)More than 26,000 students nationwide; 124 national and regional overall position holders (including group-wise); 8 Sindh regional overall position holdersSSC national overall first (shared): Korangi Academy and PECHS Girls' School

Checklist before you decide

  • ✓Ask which board the school's Matric students sit (BSEK, AKU-EB or FBISE), and get it in writing. It decides the syllabus, the papers and when results come out.
  • ✓Ask for the school's Class 10 results by group (Science, Biology, Computer Science, Humanities or General), not just its position holders. Ask whether the figures cover every student who sat the exam.
  • ✓Find out when your child must choose between Matric and O Level, and confirm it with the admissions office if the school's own pages disagree.
  • ✓If the school has several campuses, confirm which campus teaches Classes 9 and 10, which board that campus uses, and whether it is single-sex or mixed at that level.
  • ✓Get a written first-year cost: monthly tuition, admission and application fees, refundable security deposit, annual charges and board exam fees.
  • ✓Ask about need-based aid or scholarships. Nasra and the Habib Education Trust describe aid on their sites, and CDSS says its Korangi Academy charges a subsidised tuition fee.
  • ✓Check whether the school continues to Class XI–XII, which board it uses there, and what entry marks it expects.
  • ✓Try the actual commute at school time. SchoolNama doesn't list Karachi pick-and-drop providers yet, so ask the school about vans.
  • ✓Visit, and ask current parents about teaching quality and staff turnover. Marks alone won't tell you either.

Frequently asked questions

Which is the best Matric school in Karachi?

No published evidence supports naming one. The 2026 results coverage we found gave overall pass rates and position holders, not school-by-school results, and schools publish their own results unevenly. Shortlist schools whose Matric board, fees and Class 10 results you can check, and choose on fit.

Which exam boards do Karachi Matric schools use?

Mainly three. BSEK is the city board, and 175,200 candidates sat its 2026 Class 10 Science papers alone. AKU-EB is a private national board used by a number of Karachi private and trust schools. FBISE's affiliation list, as of October 2020, included some Karachi cantonment, Army Public School and Bahria institutions. Ask each school which board it uses.

What were the Karachi Matric results in 2026?

BSEK's Class 10 Science Group results, announced on 10 July 2026, had an 80.87% pass rate: 141,688 of 175,200 candidates passed. AKU-EB announced its results on 8 August 2026. Two Karachi students, from Korangi Academy and PECHS Girls' School, shared the SSC national overall first position.

Are position holders a good way to pick a school?

Not on their own. A top score belongs to one student. Large networks have many more campuses, so they are likely to enter more candidates, and BSEK and AKU-EB marks are not on the same scale. Ask for the school's Class 10 results by group instead.

How much do Matric schools in Karachi charge?

Fees vary, and most schools don't publish them. Of the schools we checked, only Nasra School lists a 2026–27 fee on its site: Rs 5,800 standard monthly tuition, which it says may vary by campus and grade. On top of that are a Rs 10,000 admission fee, a Rs 5,000 refundable deposit, a Rs 500 application form and Rs 5,200 in annual charges for primary and secondary. Ask other schools for a written schedule.

Are there boys-only and girls-only Matric schools in Karachi?

Yes. Habib Girls' School, PECHS Girls' School and The Mama Parsi Girls' Secondary School are girls' schools. Habib Public School and BVS Parsi High School describe themselves as boys' schools. Usman Public School System lists every class from Class III upward as girls-only or boys-only. Confirm the arrangement for Classes 9–10 at the specific campus.

Can SchoolNama filter Karachi schools by Matric?

Not reliably yet. Only government school listings in Karachi carry a Matric tag, and 1,286 of our 1,534 Karachi listings have no curriculum recorded. That's why this guide uses the schools' own websites. Treat the curriculum field on a Karachi listing as a starting point, and check with the school.

#Matric#SSC#Karachi#BSEK#AKU-EB#board results#school fees#school comparison

Sources

Comments

No comments yet. Be the first.

Posting as a guest. Sign in to post under your name.

Schools mentioned

More from SchoolNama