Islamabad24 Islamabad government schools and colleges closed indefinitely from 22 September as police are housed on campus
SchoolNama
guideIslamabad

Best Matric Schools in Islamabad (2026): Board Results, Fees & Parent Checklist

No published data supports a fair ranking of Islamabad's Matric schools. Here is what FBISE's 2026 results and its own affiliation list actually show, which kinds of schools sit Matric in the capital, and what to ask before you pay an admission fee.

SchoolNama Editorial · 25 September 2026 · 11 min read

Short answer

No published data ranks Islamabad's Matric schools fairly, so compare evidence instead. FBISE's own affiliation list confirms which campuses can enter SSC candidates, including FDE's Islamabad Model Colleges, OPF Boys College, Fazaia Education System School and campuses of The City School and Beaconhouse. FBISE's 2026 Class 10 pass rate was 91.33%, but it published no school-by-school table. Few schools post their fees.

How we researched this: On 25 September 2026 we checked every school named here against FBISE's online list of affiliated institutes, opened the official websites of the schools whose programmes, fees or policies we describe, and took the 2026 SSC results from FBISE's announcement as reported by APP, Dawn, The Express Tribune and ProPakistani. Every SchoolNama figure was counted directly from our Islamabad campus records. We did not rank schools, because none of these sources supports a ranking.

Search for the best Matric schools in Islamabad and you will mostly find lists built on reputation. The coverage of FBISE's 2026 results that we read gave board-wide pass rates and named position holders. None of it gave a school-by-school table that parents could use to compare schools, and schools publish their own results unevenly. This guide therefore sticks to what can be checked. It explains which Islamabad schools FBISE lists as affiliated for SSC, groups them by type, sets out what the 2026 results do and don't tell you, and lists the questions worth asking before you commit. SchoolNama's Islamabad city page lists the individual campuses.

In Islamabad, Matric almost always means the Federal Board of Intermediate and Secondary Education (FBISE). Its online list of affiliated institutes showed 3,266 institutions in Pakistan and abroad when we checked it. By our count, about 670 of those entries have Islamabad addresses and are affiliated at SSC level, either SSC alone or SSC and HSSC together. Being on the list means a school is affiliated to enter SSC candidates. It does not tell you how many students it enters, or whether a particular campus runs a Matric class every year, so ask. FBISE is also changing its papers. Its website announces a restructured pattern of 50% MCQs and 50% descriptive questions. ProPakistani reports that the Board of Governors approved it on 28 July 2026 for Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Computer Science. Fresh SSC-I students start with it in the Second Annual 2026 exams, and it reaches all SSC-I students in the First Annual 2027 exams and SSC-II students in phases from 2027, fully from the First Annual 2028 exams. FBISE's date sheet shows the SSC Part I and II Second Annual exams began on 24 September 2026.

FBISE announced its SSC First Annual 2026 results on 29 July 2026, according to APP. ProPakistani's report of the Class 10 (SSC-II) gazette says 140,226 candidates sat the exam and 128,070 passed, a pass rate of 91.33%. Regular candidates passed at 95.69% and ex-private candidates at 61.21%. Girls passed at 94.04% and boys at 88.74%. Of the regions ProPakistani listed, the one labelled Federal Area had the lowest pass rate, 86.78%. In Class 9 (SSC-I), 88,646 of the 148,311 candidates who sat passed, which is 59.77%. Regular candidates passed at 64.23% and ex-private candidates at 18.01%. These are board-wide figures. FBISE examines candidates from many parts of Pakistan and from schools abroad, so they are not an Islamabad pass rate.

Dawn and The Express Tribune published the same names and marks for the top positions, and Dawn also named the students' schools. None of the three Science Group toppers Dawn named studies at a school in Islamabad: two schools are in Rawalpindi Cantonment and one in Muzaffarabad. In the Humanities Group, Muhammad Maaz of the Institute of Islamic Sciences, Satra Meel, Islamabad, shared second place with 1,031 marks. Dawn reported that "no Islamabad-based public school secured a position this year". It also said the Federal Directorate of Education (FDE) had gone about three years without permanent leadership before a director general was recently appointed. Not every outlet's list matched. A Daily Pakistan page dated 28 July, the day before the official announcement, names different Science Group toppers. We have used the Dawn and Express Tribune lists, which agree with each other.

Position holders don't make a ranking. A top score belongs to one student, not to a school. Large networks enter far more candidates than single schools, so they are likely to produce more toppers. What tells you more is a school's full Class 10 result: how many students it entered, how many passed, and how the grades were spread. Ask whether the figures include every student who sat, or only the best section. FBISE's results portal gives individual results, so a school that publishes a results summary should be able to back it up.

SchoolNama's own Islamabad data can't yet do this filtering for you, and we want to say so plainly. SchoolNama has 2,765 Islamabad listings, and 2,085 of them have no curriculum recorded. Of the 506 tagged Matric, 489 are public schools, and 85 have 'primary' or 'I-V' in their names, so the tag is not reliable. One example is Islamabad Model College for Men H-9. Our listing tags it Matric and co-ed, but the college's own website calls it Islamabad Model College for Boys H-9 and describes an HSSC programme, not SSC, and FBISE lists it at HSSC level only. SchoolNama tags the Beaconhouse Bahria and PWD campuses as Matric, but we did not find either in FBISE's list. A few Islamabad profiles show fee figures, but these have not yet been checked with the schools, so we have not used them. The shortlist below is built from FBISE's list and the schools' own websites, not from SchoolNama's tags.

Federal government schools are the largest group. FDE's institutions page lists 432 institutions, from Islamabad Model Colleges for boys and for girls down to many primary schools marked (I-V). By our count, more than 170 of FBISE's Islamabad SSC entries are named Islamabad Model School, Islamabad Model College, or Islamabad College for Boys or Girls. Examples that FBISE lists at SSC and HSSC level include the Islamabad Model Colleges for Girls in F-6/2, F-7/4, F-8/1 and G-10/2, the Islamabad Model Colleges for Boys in F-7/3, F-8/4, F-10/3 and I-8/3, Islamabad College for Boys G-6/3 and Islamabad College for Girls F-6/2. Their names indicate separate colleges for boys and for girls; confirm the arrangement for Classes 9 and 10 with the college. The FDE pages we opened did not publish a school fee schedule. FDE's website points parents to its online admissions portal. Not every 'model college' teaches Classes 9 and 10: the H-9 boys' college above is one example.

Several foundation and armed-forces institutions run Matric alongside Cambridge. OPF Boys College, H-8/4, says it teaches from Class VI to HSSC, alongside Cambridge O and A Level. It says its students sit SSC and HSSC exams with FBISE, and it has been open since 2001. FBISE also lists OPF Girls College, F-8/2, at SSC and HSSC level. The Overseas Pakistanis Foundation says overseas Pakistanis who are OPF Compulsory Members can pay Rs 10,000 for a package of incentives that includes a 50% fee discount for up to four children in OPF schools and colleges. Fazaia Education System School, E-9/1, describes Cambridge and Matric streams, with FBISE certification, running from pre-school to Class XII. It reports more than 2,400 students and describes its fee structure as one of the lowest in the twin cities, without giving figures. FBISE's list also includes Bahria College Naval Complex in E-8 and several Army Public School and College campuses in Islamabad.

Many private networks best known for Cambridge also hold FBISE SSC affiliation for some Islamabad campuses. FBISE lists The City School Capital Campus on Pitras Bukhari Road, H-8/1, at SSC level and The City School E-11 Campus at SSC and HSSC level. It lists three Beaconhouse campuses at SSC level: the Educational Complex in G-15/3, the Potohar Campus on GT Road and a campus in H-11/4. It lists Roots International's Wellington Campus in H-8/4 and Richmond Campus opposite DHA Phase II at SSC and HSSC level, and Roots Millennium School in E-11/4 at SSC level. SchoolNama's records for these Roots campuses are tagged O Level, O and A Level, or not tagged at all; none is tagged Matric. Beaconhouse's own page for the G-15 complex lists its programmes without naming a board, so ask each campus whether it runs a Matric section. FBISE's list also includes many campuses of large networks such as Allied School, Dar-e-Arqam School and The Educators.

The Institute of Islamic Sciences at Satra Meel, on the Murree road, was founded in 1986. It says it is affiliated with the Wifaq ul Madaris Al Arabiyya for religious education and with FBISE for contemporary education. It teaches from grade 6 to graduation alongside a religious curriculum. Its website says it offers free education with accommodation from grade 6, and it highlights Muhammad Maaz's 2026 SSC result. Its pages did not say whether it takes boys, girls or both, and it does not yet have a SchoolNama listing.

Fees are where the evidence is thinnest. Among the Islamabad schools we checked, only Lahore School System & College, in the National Police Foundation area of O-9, posts a fee schedule with Matric-class figures. It lists monthly tuition of Rs 7,930 for Grades VI to X, a Rs 7,000 admission fee and a Rs 6,000 annual fee, and says tuition rises by 10% every year. The page does not say which session these figures are for, so confirm them before you rely on them. The school is on FBISE's list at SSC level. The Institute of Islamic Sciences says its education is free, and OPF describes a discount for overseas Pakistanis who are its Compulsory Members. None of the other schools named here publishes Matric fees on the pages we opened. For those schools, ask for a written schedule of first-year costs.

Marks matter less than several other things. Board fit comes first. FBISE's move to half-MCQ papers in Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Computer Science changes how students need to prepare, so ask any school how it is adjusting its teaching. Next, find out when the stream choice happens at schools that run Matric alongside O Level, and whether both streams continue on the same campus. Then check continuity. An 'SSC/HSSC' entry on FBISE's list suggests a school can take a student through to Class XII, but confirm the entry requirements. Single-sex or mixed classes matter to many families. The FDE colleges are named as separate boys' and girls' colleges, but confirm the arrangement for Classes 9 and 10. Finally, consider the daily commute, which can be long across the capital's sectors and outlying areas.

SchoolNama lists a small number of pick-and-drop providers and tutors in Islamabad on its pick-and-drop and tutors pages. Confirm van arrangements with the school as well. Once you have two or three candidates, SchoolNama's Islamabad city page and compare page will show what we hold for each listing. Treat those listings as a starting point, and check the curriculum and fees with each school.

Islamabad schools FBISE lists as affiliated at SSC level (checked 25 Sept 2026)

SchoolFBISE level listedOther stream (school's own site)Boys / girls / co-edFees published?
Islamabad Model Colleges for Girls (e.g. F-6/2, F-7/4, F-8/1, G-10/2) (FDE)SSC/HSSCNot checked; FDE pages give no stream detailsGirls (by name; confirm)No fee schedule on FDE pages we opened
Islamabad Model Colleges for Boys (e.g. F-7/3, F-8/4, F-10/3, I-8/3) (FDE)SSC/HSSCNot checked; FDE pages give no stream detailsBoys (by name; confirm)No fee schedule on FDE pages we opened
OPF Boys College, H-8/4SSC/HSSCCambridge O and A LevelBoysNo figures; overseas Pakistani OPF Compulsory Members can pay Rs 10,000 for a package including 50% off for up to four children
OPF Girls College, F-8/2SSC/HSSCNot checkedGirlsNo figures; overseas Pakistani OPF Compulsory Members can pay Rs 10,000 for a package including 50% off for up to four children
Fazaia Education System School, E-9SSC/HSSCCambridge (O and A Level)Not stated; askNo figures; calls its fees among the lowest in the twin cities
The City School Capital Campus, H-8/1SSCNot checkedNot stated; askNo
Beaconhouse Educational Complex, G-15/3; Potohar Campus, GT RoadSSCBranch pages list programmes without naming a boardNot stated; askNo
Roots International Wellington Campus, H-8/4SSC/HSSCNot checked (SchoolNama tags O/A Level, not Matric)Not stated; askNo
Roots Millennium School, E-11/4SSCNot checked (SchoolNama tags O and A Level)Not stated; askNo
Lahore School System & College, NPF O-9SSCNone statedNot stated; askYes: Rs 7,930/month for Grades VI–X (session not stated)
Institute of Islamic Sciences, Satra MeelSSC/HSSCWifaq ul Madaris religious curriculumNot stated; askFree education with accommodation from grade 6 (school site)

What FBISE's 2026 SSC First Annual results showed (announced 29 July 2026)

ClassSat / passedPass rateBreakdown reported
Class 10 (SSC-II)140,226 sat; 128,070 passed91.33%Regular 95.69%, ex-private 61.21%; girls 94.04%, boys 88.74%; Federal Area 86.78%
Class 9 (SSC-I)148,311 sat; 88,646 passed59.77%Regular 64.23%, ex-private 18.01%; girls 64.55%, boys 55.28%

Checklist before you decide

  • ✓Check that the specific campus appears on FBISE's list of affiliated institutes at SSC level, and ask whether it actually runs a Matric Class 9 and 10 this year.
  • ✓Ask for the school's full Class 10 result: how many students it entered, how many passed and the grade spread. Ask whether the figures include every student who sat, not just its position holders.
  • ✓Ask how the school is preparing students for FBISE's new 50% MCQ, 50% descriptive papers in Mathematics, Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Computer Science, which start with fresh SSC-I students.
  • ✓At schools that run Matric alongside O Level, find out when your child must choose a stream and whether both streams continue on the same campus.
  • ✓Confirm whether Classes 9 and 10 are single-sex or mixed at that campus. FDE's model colleges are named as separate boys' and girls' colleges.
  • ✓Get a written first-year cost: monthly tuition, admission fee, security deposit, annual charges, and FBISE registration and exam fees.
  • ✓Ask about concessions, such as sibling discounts, merit or need-based aid, or foundation membership discounts like OPF's.
  • ✓Check whether the school continues to Class XI–XII (an SSC/HSSC entry on FBISE's list) and what marks it expects for entry.
  • ✓Try the actual commute at school time, and ask the school about vans before you rely on a private provider.
  • ✓Visit, and ask current parents about teaching quality and staff turnover. Marks alone won't tell you either.

Frequently asked questions

Which is the best Matric school in Islamabad?

No published evidence supports naming one. FBISE's 2026 results coverage gave board-wide pass rates and position holders, not school-by-school results, and schools publish their own results unevenly. Shortlist schools whose FBISE affiliation, fees and full Class 10 results you can check, and choose on fit.

Which board do Islamabad Matric schools use?

Almost always the Federal Board (FBISE). Its online list of affiliated institutes showed 3,266 institutions in Pakistan and abroad when we checked it, and by our count about 670 Islamabad entries are affiliated at SSC level. Check that the specific campus you are considering is on the list.

What were the FBISE Matric results in 2026?

FBISE announced its SSC First Annual 2026 results on 29 July 2026. In Class 10, 128,070 of the 140,226 candidates who sat passed, a pass rate of 91.33%. In Class 9, the pass rate was 59.77%. These figures cover the whole board, not just Islamabad.

Did any Islamabad school produce a 2026 SSC position holder?

Yes, one in the lists Dawn and The Express Tribune published. Muhammad Maaz of the Institute of Islamic Sciences, Satra Meel, shared second place in the Humanities Group with 1,031 marks. Dawn reported that "no Islamabad-based public school secured a position this year".

How much do Matric schools in Islamabad charge?

Most schools don't publish fees. Of the schools we checked, only Lahore School System & College in O-9 lists Matric-class figures: Rs 7,930 a month for Grades VI to X, a Rs 7,000 admission fee and a Rs 6,000 annual fee. The page doesn't say which session these are for. The Institute of Islamic Sciences says its education is free. Ask other schools for a written schedule.

Are there boys-only and girls-only Matric schools in Islamabad?

Yes. FDE's Islamabad Model Colleges are named as separate colleges for boys and for girls, and OPF runs a boys' college in H-8/4 and a girls' college in F-8/2. For private networks, the pages we opened did not say, so confirm the arrangement for Classes 9 and 10 at the specific campus.

Can SchoolNama filter Islamabad schools by Matric?

Not reliably yet. Most of the Matric tags on our Islamabad listings are on public schools, some of them primary schools, and 2,085 of our 2,765 Islamabad listings have no curriculum recorded. That's why this guide uses FBISE's list and the schools' own websites. Treat the curriculum field on a listing as a starting point, and check with the school.

#Matric#SSC#Islamabad#FBISE#FDE#board results#school fees#school comparison

Comments

No comments yet. Be the first.

Posting as a guest. Sign in to post under your name.

Schools mentioned

More from SchoolNama